Parish Church of San Juan Bautista (John the Baptist)
The Church, dedicated to San Juan Bautista, was constructed between 1736 and 1776. The construction was financed by contributions made by the residents of Alcalà in the form of quotas known as treintenos: one part out of every thirty jugs of wine and oil or bushels of wheat was given as a contribution towards its construction). The architects were José Herrero and Joan Barceló.
The floor plan is in the form of the Latin cross. The inner space of the temple consists of three naves divided into five sections by a crossing, over which sits a cupola with its respective pendentives and drum and eight large windows. It does not feature a roof lantern.
The façade, an enormous wall of mixtilinear profile and crowned with lanterns and a statue of Saint Michael, presides over the three portals. It is of a symmetrical composition: a three-story central portal flanked by two side portals, each two-stories high.
The decoration is based on baroque plasterwork and vault paintings displaying allegorical and figurative themes. The great central altarpiece was painted in 1996 by Vicente Traver Calzada who, by way of his central motif, the beheading of San Juan Bautista, projects the timeless nature of violence and evil.
The Parochial Museum, located inside the Church, displays a number of oil paintings, panels and other goldsmith pieces and ornaments, which, until their fortuitous rediscovery, had been stored away precariously.